Winifred Kiek Scholarship

Australian Church Women Sponsors of The Winifred Kiek Scholarship

Follow the links for Winifred Kiek Scholarship information


In 1927 Winifred Kiek was the first woman to be ordained in Australia in the (then) Congregational Church (now Uniting Church). She was a pioneer in working for a National Committee of all State Women’s Inter-Church Councils which led to the formation of Australian Church Women, of which she was a Life Member.

Winifred worked for peace in local, state, national and international organisations, attending many world conferences.

Because of her concern for women in third world countries at that time, she was influential in the founding of the Winifred Kiek Scholarship, which has been awarded every year since 1965.


This scholarship is available to Christian women from multicultural Australia, Pacific Island nations, and member countries of Asian Church Women’s Conference who already have basic training in a chosen field of work.

It provides the opportunity for further theological training to better equip the scholar to provide leadership in her own country, church and community. The scholarship may be used to cover fares, tuition fees and accommodation, and is awarded annually.

When it is deemed more appropriate, the scholarship funds may be used for designated educational or charitable projects for women through the National Council of Churches of Australia World Christian Service.


The Winifred Kiek Scholarship for 2020 will be awarded to a young woman who is a resident of a country which is a member of the Asian Church Women’s Conference. Applications will open at the end of January 2019 and close on 31 May 2019. Further information and application forms are available by contacting the Chair of Trustees.

Velvy Holden
Tel: +61 415 728 457


The offerings received at the Australian Church Women Inc. Fellowship Day Services, held throughout Australia in July each year, are invested and the interest used to finance the scholarship. Additional donations are encouraged and may be made at any time to the Winifred Kiek Scholarship fund through State and Territory Units or the National Executive.


The trustees of the Scholarship, located in Adelaide, are responsible for investing funds and act as an advisory body to the National Executive of Australian Church Women.


(Previously known as the Memorial Bursary Book)
Nominations are invited for Christian women whose association with the work of Australian Church Women is noteworthy. Along with the submission a donation is given, and the interest earned from the invested monies is used to provide a book grant to current scholarship holders. A profile and photograph of the woman is then recorded in the book held by the National Winifred Kiek Scholarship Convener.


At the discretion of the trustees, in consultation with the National Executive, funds will be made available (on a predetermined basis) to invite a representative from the following bodies:

  • Asian Church Women’s Conference
  • The Pacific Council of Churches
  • Past Winifred Kiek Scholars
  • The Fellowship of the Least Coin International Committee
  • Church Women United Aotearoa/New Zealand
  • or a noted Christian woman leader

To attend the National Conference of Australian Church Women Inc. and visit State/Territory Units under such a Fellowship.

Connie Tan 1965 Indonesia Childcare
Sabita Swarup 1966 Fiji Secretarial
Anna Elasmi (returned home ill) 1967 Papua New Guinea YWCA Worker
Jacki Kini (Mrs Vele) 1968/9 Papua New Guinea GB Teaching
Veronica Kafa (Mrs Loe) 1970 Solomon Islands Teaching
Violet Sampa (Mrs Bredt) 1971 Zambia Theology
Terani Aisake (Mrs Lima) 1972 Fiji Deaconess
Kalpana Airan 1973 India Teaching
Rae Song (unable to participate) 1974 Korea
Mrs Mary Weme 1975 Kenya Welfare
Sarrah Ah You 1976 Samoa Community Development
Jennifer Yeo Suan Phoon 1977 Taiwan Evangelism
Tapita Das 1978 Bangladesh Handicrafts
Sr Barkat Kishan Dass (Deceased) 1978 Pakistan Nursing, Theology
Eita Boeva 1979 Papua New Guinea Nursing, Theology
Mary Y K Au 1980 Hong Kong Religious Education
Dien Sumiyatiningsih (Nuhamara) 1980 Indonesia Pastoral Education
Malini Weerasinghe 1981 Sri Lanka Religious Education
Salaseini Kanavakaca 1982 Fiji Religious Education
Lieutenant Miriam Gehare (PTG) 1982 Papua New Guinea Typing
Byong Ok Min 1983 Korea Christian Education
Dr Sushila Rao 1984 India Bridge Programme
Valeri Palang 1985 Papua New Guinea Leadership
Rashmira Maharjan 1988 Nepal Leadership
Failoutus Tibati 1989 Kiribati Secretarial
Doreen Tie Chin Bing (Tan) 1990 Sarawak Teaching Disabled
A Rachel Sobana (Kanly) 1991 South India Nursing
Ana Taumoepeau 1992 Tonga Computer Studies
Malai Mahamaneerat 1993 Thailand Grief Counselling
Nighat Gulzar 1994 Pakistan Office Management
Mrs Captain Lily Politini 1995 Fiji Alcohol Education
Rachel Rolland 1995 Vanuatu Leadership
CCWA 1996 Cambodia Tailoring, weaving, literacy, English
Rachael McManus 1997 Australia Theological Education
Lieutenant Joanne Harries 1997 Australia Theological Education
Milise Taipaleti 1998 Tonga Theology
Mai Zin Zin Wah 1995 Myanmar Theology
Sue Nitrai 2000 Australia Theology
Celestial Lusi 2001 Solomon Islands Theology
Lai Mui Ching (April) 2002 Hong Kong MA On Women in Relation to Religion
Monique Crabtree 2003 Australia Religious Education
Gaye Inall 2003 Australia Deaf Education
Susan Liersch 2003 Australia Christian Counselling
Mereani Dinacika Raqeu 2004 Fiji Ministry to Women in Sex Industry
Siok Cheng Chew 2005 Malaysia Advanced Certificate Autism
Anju Borgoary 2005 India Pastoral Counselling
Vivian Cheung 2006 Australia MA Theology
Tania Eichler 2006 Australia Dip. Theology
Pastor Leinamau Manrogoana 2007 Vanuatu Evangelism
Cathy Paraka 2007 Papua New Guinea Theological Education
Imelda Aquino 2008 Philippines M.Divinity (Missions)
Christine Ferguson 2009 Australia Pastoral Theology
Inise Foiakau 2009 Australia Pastoral Theology
Ruth Marsipal 2010 Papua New Guinea Empowering Women
Tonu Fakraufon 2010 Fiji Empowering Women
Arpona Mejahary 2011 India Final Year Bachelor of Divinity
Sisarat Kheng 2011 Cambodia Evangelism
Denise Champion  2012   Australia  Theological Studies
Kyounghee Cho      2012   Australia  Overseas Conferences
Berebere Katauea 2013 Kiribati   Bachelor of Divinity
Lou Momoru 2013 Papua New Guinea Theology
Christina Taviti 2013 Vanuatu    Diploma in Theology
Verenaisi Toga   2013 Fiji  Bachelor of divinity
Seng Ja  2014  Myanmar    Master of Divinity
Wasana Fernando  2014   Sri Lanka  Master in Transformative Theologies of  Gender
Hendriyane Anthony 2015 Australia Christian Counselling
Caryn Rogers 2015 Australia PhD Linguistics
Esline Toamavute 2016 Vanuatu International Women’s Conference
Hina Burq 2017 Pakistan Attend International Conference
All India Council of Christian Women 2017 India Project for Gender Justice in India
Lauren England 2018 Australia Master of Theology
Elise Ruthenbeck 2018 Australia Archival Work for PhD
Geraldine Williame 2019 Fiji PhD studies

Mrs Rathie Selvaratnam 1981
Mrs Eunice Kim 1984
Mrs Rachel Matthew 1991
Mrs Annathaie Abaysekara 1991
Rev Mary Y K Au 1993
Mrs Violet Sampa-Bredt 1993
Mrs Janice Shearer 1995
Deaconess Barkat K Dass (deceased) 1996
Rev Iluminada Domingo 1997
Dr Esther Byu 1999
Ms Christina Wong Wai-Yin 2003
Rev Valamotu Palu 2005
Ms Shu-Wen Chiang 2007
Ms Corazon Tabing – Reyes 2009
Rev Lee Moon Sook 2011
Esther Kilaghbian 2013
Devika Ukwatte 2015
Susan Jackson-Dowd 2017

  • Our Aim/Objectives

    • Australian Church Women Inc seeks to unite Christian women across denominational boundaries, to promote peace, understanding and unity through faith and love in one God, Father, Son and Holy Spirit.